New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame reveals 2016 inductees

SHIPPAGAN, NB – The names of the six new members who will be inducted into the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame on June 4, 2016 in Shippagan were announced today.

“These dedicated, sports-minded New Brunswickers are being recognized for athletic excellence and leadership in promoting active living in our province,” said Tourism, Culture and Heritage Minister Bill Fraser. “Their commitment to sport inspires individuals and families to take part in physical activities in their communities for better health, improved quality of life and a stronger province.”

The members will join the hall when it holds its induction ceremony at Centre des congrès de la Péninsule acadienne de Shippagan on June 4. The inductees will bring the total number of honourees to 249.

“We are proud to announce that these 5 distinguished athletes and 1 sports builder are to be inducted into the hall of fame,” said Clem Tremblay, chair of the hall’s board of governors. “We are also excited to have Shippagan host this year’s event and look forward to honouring these worthy New Brunswickers.”
The new members:

Patty Blanchard of Moncton runs because it makes her feel light and free. She holds six provincial running records and seven Canadian Masters records. Her passion for running started at a young age and has led her around the world; she competed for Team Canada for 8 years with her first event taking place in Morocco. Blanchard is an inductee of the Run NB Hall of Fame.

David Foley of Saint John is a professional soccer player who played with the Winnipeg Fury Soccer Club. He was the franchise’s leading goal scorer when he retired in 1991. Foley played his youth soccer in Hampton, NB, where his team won the club provincial title. He was captain and MVP of the Varsity Red Shirts men’s soccer team at the University of New Brunswick. He is the first soccer athlete inductee in the NB Sports Hall of Fame.

Kevin Foran of Dalhousie achieved his highest success in hockey while attending Mount Allison University. He became the leading scorer in C.I.A.U. hockey history in 1983, a record he still holds. Foran was selected to the Pre-Olympic Tem which played a cross-county tour against a Russian Team.

Darren Ritchie of Saint John was the first and only Maritimer to win the Canadian Amateur Golf Championship (1992). His victory was made even more impressive by the fact that he had been diagnosed with malignant melanoma just three months prior to competing. From 1990 – 1992 Ritchie placed either first or second during twelve provincial golfing competitions.

Bernard DeGrâce of Shippagan has officiated during 980 hockey games from the minors to professional hockey. DeGrâce is a person who likes challenges; an attribute that led him to be the first New Brunswicker and Acadian Referee/Linesman to work in the NHL. He officiated 350 NHL games from 1989 – 2002.

Eldridge Eatman of Saint John was one of the greatest sprinters ever produced in New Brunswick. His athletic career began in the early 1900’s. Eatman defeated Tom Keen, world 120 yards champion and later US Olympic coach, in Saint John and won the prestigious Powder Hill title for the world’s 120 yards championship at Edinburgh, Scotland in 1906.

Tickets will be available in early April; please call our office at (506) 453-3647 or send an email to NB Sports Hall of Fame to reserve your tickets today.


Patty Blanchard

Dave Foley

David Foley

Kevin Foran

Kevin Foran

Darren Ritchie

Darren Ritchie

Bernard DeGrace

Bernard DeGrâce

Elbridge Eatman2

Eldridge Eatman

  • site by vagrant.