Induction Ceremony

NBSHF Event Banner

2017 Induction Ceremony

48th annual New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Ceremony

May 27, 2017 at 6PM

qplex, Quispamsis

 Visit our Facebook Event Page

Tickets may be purchased at the Town of Quispamsis or the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame

$90 before May 1st, $95 after May 1st

The New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame Announces the 2017 Inductees! The six new members, to be inducted into the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame on May 27th, were announced at a press conference held in Quispamsis.

Ernest Quigley

Ernest Quigley (1880-1960) of Miramichi had a career spanning over 50 years that included coaching, umpiring and refereeing. His love of sports inspired him to be involved in many disciplines such as baseball, basketball and football. It is estimated that he presided over 15,000 games throughout his career – most notably when he refereed the very first Olympic basketball game every played at the 1936 Berlin Games. His undeniable passion for sport was recognized by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, Kansas University Sports Wall of Fame, State of Kansas Sports Hall of Fame and the National Collegiate Athletic Association Hall of Fame



Flood Brothers of Renforth were a highly decorated lightweight pair in rowing throughout the early 1980’s who racked-up three gold, two silver and three bronze medals in the first three years of competing nationally. Having competed in the Canadian National Rowing Championships, the Royal Canadian Henley Regatta and FISA they proudly represented their hometown and New Brunswick on the national stage. Brian and Henry Flood also both went on competing individually winning four more gold medals combined in both U.S. and Canadian National Championships.



Team Hanlon-Worlds

Team Hanlon of Saint John consists of Heidi Hanlon (Ship), Kathy Floyd (Mate), Jane Arsenau (Lead) and Judy Blanchard (Second). Their thirty year career has led to an impressive resume of provincial, national and world championship titles. Having participated in 15 Scotties Tournament of Hearts national competitions, Team Hanlon has brought New Brunswick to the forefront in competitive curling. Their Senior Provincial, National and World championship titles in 2011-2012 led to their induction into the Saint John Sports Hall of Fame in 2013.


paula pic - Cropped

Paula Keating of Miramichi is an accomplished Marathon runner, holding numerous provincial records. Her career has spanned over a decade with many accomplishments and firsts in New Brunswick, as well as internationally. For five consecutive years she was named Female Runner of the year by RunNB, and is an inducted member of the RunNB Hall of Fame and the Miramichi Sports Wall of Fame. She continues to challenge herself by participating in the Miramichi Rock n’ Run every year, which she as won every year since 2006.






Jeff ScholtenJeffrey Scholten of Fredericton has set two world speed skating records throughout his decorated career. His abilities were quickly recognised at a young age, placing first in the Maritime Championships three times in five years. He then went on to represent New Brunswick and Canada, in National and International competitions from 1994 to 1999, both individually and as a team member. In 2000, he was inducted into the Speed Skating Canada Hall of Fame.






Kimberly Adams-Tattrie of Tide Head is arguably the single most successful progolfer to come from New Brunswick. Her first place win at the Futures Tour in Lakeland, Florida makes her the first New Brunswicker to win a progolf tournament. Her impressive achievements that ranged from 1991 to 2005 – on the provincial, national and international circuits – have made her one of the most decorated female golfers in Canada. She is also an inducted member of the Campbellton Sports Hall of Fame.



NBSHF Induction Announcement 2017


2016 Induction Ceremony

The New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame honoured its Class of 2016 inductees on Saturday, June 4th, 2016 in Shippagan.


From the left: Darren Ritchie (golf) of Hampton, Kevin Foran (hockey) of Dalhousie, David Foley (soccer) of Saint John, the late Eldridge Eatman (sprinter, represented by Maurice Eatman) of Saint John, Bernard DeGrâce (hockey builder) of Shippagan and Patty Blanchard (runner) of Moncton.

Patty Blanchard of Moncton runs because it makes her feel light and free. She holds six provincial running records and seven Canadian Masters records. Her passion for running started at a young age and has led her around the world; she competed for Team Canada for 8 years with her first event taking place in Morocco. Blanchard is an inductee of the Run NB Hall of Fame.

Bernard DeGrâce of Shippagan has officiated during 980 hockey games from the minors to professional hockey. DeGrâce is a person who likes challenges; an attribute that led him to be the first New Brunswicker and Acadian Referee/Linesman to work in the NHL. He officiated 350 NHL games from 1989 – 2002.

Eldridge Eatman of Saint John was one of the greatest sprinters ever produced in New Brunswick. His athletic career began in the early 1900’s. Eatman defeated Tom Keen, world 120 yards champion and later US Olympic coach, in Saint John and won the prestigious Powder Hill title for the world’s 120 yards championship at Edinburgh, Scotland in 1906.

David Foley of Saint John is a professional soccer player who played with the Winnipeg Fury Soccer Club. He was the franchise’s leading goal scorer when he retired in 1991. He was captain and MVP of the Varsity Red Shirts men’s soccer team at the University of New Brunswick. David remains the highest scorer in the history of the UNB soccer program. He is the first soccer athlete inductee in the NB Sports Hall of Fame.

Kevin Foran of Dalhousie achieved his highest success in hockey while attending Mount Allison University. He became the leading scorer in C.I.A.U. hockey history in 1983, a record he still holds. Foran was selected to the Pre-Olympic Tem which played a cross-county tour against a Russian Team.

Darren Ritchie of Saint John was the first and only Maritimer to win the Canadian Amateur Golf Championship (1992). His victory was made even more impressive by the fact that he had been diagnosed with malignant melanoma just three months prior to competing. From 1990 – 1992 Ritchie placed either first or second during twelve provincial golfing competitions.


Below is a brief list of Accommodation Service Providers in the Shippagan area. (Disclaimer – it is not an all-exclusive list, but just the names as provided by the local organizing committee and we do not have any special arrangements with these service providers).

Auberge Jeanine du Havre,            Shippagan     336-8884

Motel Bel Air,                                     Caraquet        727-3488

Auberge Centre Ville,                       Tracadie        395-9726

Liens des deux Rivières,                 Tracadie        394-4050


2015 Induction Ceremony

The New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame honoured its Class of 2015 inductees on Saturday, May 30th, 2015 in Shediac. From the left: Scott Murray (representing Peter Murray), John G. LeBlanc, Brigittte Soucy-Anderson, Jean Marc Gagnon (representing Edmond Gagnon), Everett Sanipass and Marc Pepin.


DSC 6553

Image gallery from the 2015 Induction Ceremony and Banquet


For more information on the Nomination and Selection process, please visit our Nominations page.